Books you may have missed

Adult Services Librarian Laurel Sisler has picked four hidden gems, all fiction titles newly acquired by APL in the past year, that she’d like to spotlight: A Captain for Caroline Gray by Julie Wright, The Birds of Opulence by Crystal Wilkinson, Goblin by Josh Malerman, and The Rat Began to Gnaw the Rope by C.W. Grafton.

“Books you may have missed” video
A Captain for Caroline Gray

A Captain for Caroline Gray by Julie Wright tells the story of a frustrated young woman in Regency England who sets sail on a voyage to India to find a husband, and finds an unexpected interest instead in the ship’s captain. The novel is published by Shadow Mountain Press, which specializes in the genre of Proper Romance–historical romances that are more sweet than sexy.

The Birds of Opulence

The Birds of Opulence is a novel about three generations of black women in rural Kentucky by Kentucky Poet Laureate Crystal Wilkinson. Wilkinson was recently named a 2022 NAACP Image Awards Finalist for her latest book of poetry, Perfect Black, which we plan to add to our collection soon.

Goblin

Goblin, by Josh Malerman, is a novel in six novellas about a small town called Goblin, and the various sinister events taking place there. Malerman is well known for writing the Netflix-adapted Birdbox. Fans of Stephen King and Stranger Things will probably love this fantasy-horror excursion through the macabre.

The Rat Began to Gnaw the Rope

The Rat Began to Gnaw the Rope, originally published in 1943 and set in its time, is a classic of the hard-boiled crime/detective noir genre, recently reprinted. It centers on the brash, wisecracking attorney Gill Henry, and his relentless quest for the truth. The author, C. W. Grafton, is the father of mystery author Sue Grafton.